top of page
Search
thekwirkykitchen

Heart Melting Moments


So firstly I would like to say, sorry it has been a while since my last post, you would think that being in insolation it would give me more time to write, but the reality is between baking for the #100happybakingdays and keeping the three Kwirky Kids occupied....I feel like I am busier than ever!!! Crazy times my friends! However, recently I have had a few requests for recipes so I have made it my mission to make sure I get these posted. So tonight, I made a coffee (a very strong one!) and sat down to make sure I got these done before Netflix started calling to me!


Now, onto the reason why you are here...Melting Moments!! If you grew up in Australia there is every chance that you have experienced the deliciousness of these melt in your mouth biscuits (cookies, if you are in America). These much loved Aussie classics literally melt in your mouth and it was alway a happy day in our home when these were being baked! In our house they were traditionally lemon flavored, but the beauty of these little darlings is that they are so versatile, that you really can add any desired flavor and they are still going to taste AMAZING!


They are quick, easy and definitely do not require any great baking knowledge or skills. Truth be told, I haven't actually baked Melting Moments in years, in fact, I can't actually remember the last time I did before I started my #100happybakingdays challenge. So I am thrilled that this journey that I started has reminded me to go back to my roots on quite a few recipes. It really does bring so much joy being able to share these childhood favorites with my family.


If you have been following my #100happybakingdays, you may have seen that on Day 37 I did the first batch with Lemon Biscuit and a Raspberry Buttercream....which was truly decadent. However, more recently on Day 93, I made Vanilla Biscuit with Lemon and Passionfruit Buttercream and these seem to be a big hit amongst my friends. It is only now that I have learnt that these are very much an Australian bake and my American friends had not experienced these before. It also prompted quite a few requests for the recipe from some of my fellow bakers. So it is with great pleasure that I share the love and the recipe for Melting Moments, go forth, bake and enjoy! You will not be disappointed!


MELTING MOMENTS


227g (1 cup) Unsalted Softened Butter

1/2 cup Icing Sugar (confectioner's sugar)

1 1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract

1/2 cup of Cornstarch

1 1/2 cup Plain Flour


Cream the butter and sugar together until they are well combined, turn a lighter shade of yellow and has a fluffy consistency.


Add the Vanilla Extract and mix until combined.


Add the cornstarch and flour half a cup at a time and mix on a slow speed, until well combined.


I then use a small ice-cream scoop to ensure that all the biscuits are the same size, then roll them into balls and place on a baking paper lined cookie tray. Use a fork to flatten the balls and place in the fridge for approximately 30 mins.






While the cookies are chilling, pre-heat your oven to 180c or 350F.


Bake the cookies for 15 mins, or until the edges are just slightly turning brown.


Remove from the oven and cool.


PASSIONFRUIT & LEMON BUTTERCREAM


200g of unsalted butter

1/2 cup of thickened cream (can substitute with full cream Milk)

85g of Passionfruit Pulp

1 tblsp of Lemon Juice (or 1/4 tsp Lemon Oil)

8-9 cups of icing sugar 🇦🇺 (confectioner's sugar 🇺🇸)


Soften the butter to room temperature, then add butter to a mixing bowl and cream until it changes color, to a lighter color yellow and is silky in texture.


Add thickened cream and half of the icing sugar and beat on a slow speed to start, otherwise you will end up with a face and kitchen full of icing sugar!! Once these ingredients have combined, add the remaining icing sugar and continue to beat until you have a fluffy and smooth consistency.


At this point, if you would like to add any flavoring or coloring, do so now.


Note: You may need to add a little more icing sugar to get the mixture to the right consistency, but it will depend on if you are using canned or fresh Passionfruit, just have a little extra at hand in case you need it. Your buttercream is going to be a little firmer for these biscuits, compared to what you would use for piping onto cupcakes.


My Hot Tip: Once all the ingredients are combined, turn the speed up a couple of and whip it good! This is the time to taste test and add extra cream or icing sugar if needed, but just a little at a time until you get it just right. To test if you have the right consistency, taste the mixture and once you can bite down on it without any grittiness from the icing sugar...it is perfect!!


Once your cookies are completely cool, decorate them with your perfect frosting. As I live in the desert....and it is the middle of summer at the moment, I keep them in the fridge so stop the frosting melting!!





Enjoy and Stay Safe Everyone!


Happy Baking:


Where Style and Flair, meet Good Taste!


110 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page